Home Badminton Mumbai Rockets downs Awadhe Warriors to take the Finale berth PBL 2016

Mumbai Rockets downs Awadhe Warriors to take the Finale berth PBL 2016


So, it is going to be a Delhi Acers vs Mumbai Rockets final at Premier Badminton League 2016. In the second Semifinal, Mumbai Rockets beat Awadhe Warriors 3-0 to proceed to the mega event’s final which is scheduled on January 17 at New Delhi.

Awadhe Warriors were the clear favorites to proceed to the finals but the Mumbai Rockets had different ideas for the day and they came out victorious in 4 matches. They lost their first match, but then onwards they dominated the proceedings as they made it their day with a scorecard reading 3-0 in their favor.

The first match was a mixed doubles between Bodin Issara and Christinna of Awadhe Warriors against Rockets’ Vladimir Ivanov and Kamilla Juhl. The tie was a nail biter, giving a perfect opening to the second semi-finals of the mega league. The scorecard opened with 1-0 in favor of Awadhe Warriors as they won this match 12-15, 15-13, 15-14. The second match was a Men’s Singles between H.S. Prannoy of Mumbai Rockets & Tanongsak S of Awadhe Warriors which Prannoy won 12-15, 15-7, 15-9 to equalize of the scoreboard.

The third match was Men’s Doubles between Mathias Boe- Vladimir Ivanov of Mumbai Rockets & Bodin Issara- Cai Yun of Awadhe Warriors which resulted in an Awadhe Warriors win to lead the scoreboard to 2-1 in favor of Warriors. Then was the trump match for Awadhe Warriors as they fielded Ace Shuttler Saina Nehwal took on Han Li of Mumbai Rockets. Much to the disappointment of Badminton viewers and Awadhe Warriors fans Saina lost this match 15-08, 13-15, 15-7 to lose the day for Awadhe Warriors. Mumbai Rocket won the Tie today 3-0.

In other categories, the Fastest Smash of the Day (Male) went to Tanongsak S and Bodin Issara (Awadhe Warriors) with a speed of 407 KMPH, while the Fastest Smash of the Day (Female) was Saina Nehwal’s Smash at 311 KMPH. The Longest Rally of the Day was Mathias Boe and Vladimir Ivanov in the first match with 35 shots and Han Li became the Most Valuable Player of the match as she won the match against the most formidable player of Awadhe Warriors, Saina Nehwal.

SOURCEPremier Badminton League
Previous articleSeason VI of World Series Boxing Starts with Turkey Vs China bout this weekend
Next articleStuck At The Crossroads – India down under
I'm Ayushi Tyagi - a digital creator & influencer. "Creating a digital world, one pixel at a time. From content to design, I bring life to the internet.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here