Home Cricket BAI announces the Competition Schedule for PBL 2016

BAI announces the Competition Schedule for PBL 2016

Premier Badminton League, Badminton League of India, IBL, Indian Badminton League,Mahela Jayawardene, Marylebone Cricket Club, 2016 Indian Super League Season, Anurag Thakur, BCCI, Champions League Schedule, Champions League T20, Cricket News India, Cricket News Live, Current Sports News, Current Sports News Headlines, England India Match, England India Test Match, England India Test Series, English Premier League Winners, Indian Cricket News, Indian Super League Table, Latest Indian Sports News, Law, Lodha Commission, Paralympics News, Perjury, Sports News Today Headlines, Today’s Cricket News, Today’s Football News, Today’s Sports News, World Chess Championship 2016, news headlines of sports, current sports news, hockey india, news headlines of sports, latest news, live cricket score,news, cricket score, ball by ball, latest news, latest news india,sports news, www.sports, live score, ipl, isl,football, soccernet, score, Top 10 Sports, Top 15 Most Popular Sports Websites, Top 5 Most Popular Sports Websites, Most Popular Sports Websites, goals,MCC, Sangakkara, MCC Honorary Life Membership, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas
Picture Credit: Premier Badminton League

Badminton Association of India (BAI) announced the competition schedule of the upcoming Premier Badminton League 2016, today at New Delhi. This was much sought after information once the players’ auction was complete. The PBL 2016 will be a 16-days event and will take place from January 2, 2016 till January 17, 2016.

This tournament will see the six franchisees compete against each other for the top honor, in five cities viz. New Delhi, Lucknow, Mumbai, Hyderabad & Bengaluru.

Chennai was another obvious host city for the tournament but was ruled out due to recent flood, which delayed preparation for the mega event. In lieu of this, Chennai Smashers will have their home matches at Lucknow & Hyderabad.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr. Akhilesh Das Gupta, President, BAI & Chairman PBL said: “This is a happy moment for each one of us as we are just around the corner for the start to the Premier Badminton League. Each day will be exciting and this we have ensured by the new Format & Rules that we have introduced. What has boosted us is the enthusiasm that the franchisees are showing towards the ‘Trump Match’ rule. Post PBL Auction, all the players are gearing-up for one of the most competitive Leagues in the world. With the release of the schedule, teams will start working on their strategies and game-plans. The tournament will start from Mumbai with a magnificent Opening Ceremony and conclude in Delhi with the Grand Finale.”

To kick start the tournament Mumbai Rockets will play against Awadhe Warriors on 2nd January 2016. While this tournament will see all eyes focused on World No. 2 Saina Nehwal who will feature for Lucknow-based Awadhe Warriors, the Premier Badminton League will bring together India’s top badminton players along with international players on the same platform wherein they will showcase high-class action in front of the sports loving citizens of India.

The Grand Finale will take place at Delhi on 17th January, 2016. A detailed competition schedule is as under:

Previous articleSpain Women and New Zealand Men invited to Rio Olympic Games 2016
Next articleVijender Singh all set for knockout against Samet Hyuseinov
I'm Ayushi Tyagi - a digital creator & influencer. "Creating a digital world, one pixel at a time. From content to design, I bring life to the internet.